Learning Medicine?

Before the start of 3rd year, I spent a few hours at a Borders near my house looking for medical books with tips and trick for surviving 3rd year rotations. Instead of finding what I was looking for, I found a slew of “personal narratives” about the torturous years known as medical school and residency. I’m not going to lie. I’ve read some of these books. While it is extremely interesting to hear cases that challenge both medical limits and personal limits, it is hard not to notice that the majority of these writers are somehow affiliated with Harvard. They seem to have a culture of writing (a rare skill among doctors).

Though there is not Ivy League attached to my name, this is my attempt to write about the patients that will help me become a real doctor.

Less than 2 weeks ago, I took my boards and here I am trying to diagnose and care for patients. In two weeks, we have all gone from near experts in the basic sciences relevant to medical school (AKA the nearest First Aid book) to clinicians. Since this is the beginning of rotations and I am starting with Medicine, its been a big adjustment. Its funny how much the schedule change wears you down. Let me tell you, I do not like waking up at 5:30 AM.

For the last year, we have been told that when we hit the hospitals, we, as medical students, will know the most about the basic sciences. We know so much yet none of it actually helps treat a patients. At the most, we can describe what is happening and sound intelligent doing it. The last two years were spent learning the spectrum of diseases, the next two years will be spent learning how to be doctors.

Yes! I am excited.

Leave a Reply

