Blatant Honesty

I must apologize to those that actually read this, I have about 4 or 5 posts that I had started but seem unable to finish.  This weekend I made an attempt to finish at least one of them, but I realized that I wouldn’t be able to write while my mind was consumed with other things happening my life.  So, here is my attempt at blatant honesty…

The last few months have been full of  life changes. As some of you know, 3rd year was extremely draining for me. I’m sure that this is a sentiment shared by many of my classmates. I can’t explain what it was that got to me – whether it was the constant pressure to impress people or simply having to spend weeks doing something I didn’t enjoy, but for many months I didn’t feel like myself. My friend Jim and I often will Gchat each other and ask about how our “spirits” are. Well, for at least 3-4 months, my spirit was gone.

My spirit was one of the biggest reasons why I moved forward with taking the year off.  I can already say that this is one of the best decisions I have in a long time. My year off has officially started two and a half weeks ago when I took my Step 2 exam. For the first time in months, I feel like myself – like I have something to offer again. At the same time, it has been strange adjusting to having so much free time. I spent the last year on fast-forward, always busy with something to do, something to study, some exam to take. It has taken some time to get used to coming home with no exams looming. For the most part, I have been trying to find ways to counteract the boredom that sets in within an hour of coming home.

On a separate note, one of the reasons why I have been so MIA from the blogging world was the fact that I was taking my Step 2 CS and CK exams. For those that have no clue what the means, it is basically the 2nd part of the boards. Step 1 is probably the most difficult and is taken before rotations begin. Step 2 is taken before graduation or if you go to BU, before December 31 of 4th year.  I got my Step 2 score this week and I am really happy with it. It was also a little satisfying to know that I could rise above how the last few months have been.

Now, I’ll make a stab at finishing up those other posts. In the interim, I’ve been feeling this song. Enjoy:

Student doctor signing out.

Leave a Reply

